Welcome
The purpose of this guide is to:
- Provide information about the physical spaces and resources available at the Louis Calder Memorial Library.
- Instruct Calder Library patrons how to access those spaces and resources, including how to make reservations for spaces that can be reserved.
This guide is intended for all Calder Library patrons.
You may navigate this guide by using the Tabs on the top of each page.
Librarians
-
Jorge E. Perez
Emerging Technologies Librarian
-
John Usseglio
Education and Outreach Librarian
Contact Us
Library Services Desk
The Library Services Desk is straight across from the library entrance. As your first point of contact with the Calder Library, they can help you check out books and equipment, reserve study rooms, learn about paper and 3D printing, troubleshoot access issues, connect you with librarians to answer your research and clinical information questions, and much more.
If you have a question and need to contact Access Services, please call 305-243-6403 or email libraryservices@miami.edu.
General Study Room 1021A
General study rooms are available for UM Faculty, UM Staff, UM Students, JHS Staff, and UM observers. Study rooms can be reserved in person at the Library Services Desk or over the phone at 305-243-6403. Room use is on a first come first served basis.
Computer Stations and Printing
The first floor has Mac and PC computer stations available for your use, as well as a printer. More information about printing at UM can be found on UMIT's UPrint website: https://studentsupport.it.miami.edu/uprint/.
3-D Printing
Also available on the first floor is the Calder Library's 3-D Printing Service. For more information or to request a 3-D print, please contact Access Services by calling 305-243-6403 or sending an email to libraryservices@miami.edu.
Biomedical Communications
The Department of Biomedical Communications is located on the first floor of the Calder Library. Expert staff can assist you in creating posters, graphics, and other materials usinig a wide variety of state-of-the-art tools and technologies. For more information or to make an appointment, please give them a call at 305-243-6783 or send an email to biomed@med.miami.edu.
Contact Us
General Study Room 2010 / 2011
General study rooms are available for UM Faculty, UM Staff, UM Students, JHS Staff, and UM observers. Study rooms can be reserved in person at the Library Services Desk or over the phone at 305-243-6403. Room use is on a first come first served basis.
General Study Room 2029
General study rooms are available for UM Faculty, UM Staff, UM Students, JHS Staff, and UM observers. Study rooms can be reserved in person at the Library Services Desk or over the phone at 305-243-6403. Room use is on a first come first served basis.
General Study Room 2030
General study rooms are available for UM Faculty, UM Staff, UM Students, JHS Staff, and UM observers. Study rooms can be reserved in person at the Library Services Desk or over the phone at 305-243-6403. Room use is on a first come first served basis.
Meeting Rooms
Meeting rooms (glass cubicles near the elevators) are available for UM Faculty, UM Staff, UM Students, JHS Staff, and UM observers. Room use is on a first come first served basis.
Open Study Spaces
The second floor of the Calder Library has a variety of study space available for UM Faculty, UM Staff, UM Students, JHS Staff, and UM observers. Spaces are available on a first come first served basis. Different seating arrangements facilitate both invididual and group work.
Computer Stations and Printing Services
The second floor has Mac and PC computer stations available for your use, as well as a printer. More information about printing at UM can be found on UMIT's UPrint website: https://studentsupport.it.miami.edu/uprint/.
Bascom Palmer Eye Institute's Norton Library Collection
The Bascom Palmer Eye Institute's Mary & Edward Norton Library collection is one of the world's most comprehensive collections of ophthalmic knowledge. As the top Ophthalmology program in the country, Bascom Palmer provides high quality ophthalmic care to patients in South Florida and around the world. The Norton Library collection was acquired by the Calder Library in 2017.
You can search the print collection using the uSearch Discovery System on the top right of the Calder Library website homepage. Make sure the "Library Catalog" option is selected from the drop down menu before running your search.
For more information about how to search for print books at the Calder Library, please see the following FAQ: https://calder.ask.libraryh3lp.com/questions/51093.
Contact Us
Quiet Floor
Please note that the third floor of the Calder Library is the designated quiet floor. Please observe the quiet floor policy when using the space.
General Study Room 3050A
General study rooms are available for UM Faculty, UM Staff, UM Students, JHS Staff, and UM observers. Room use is on a first come first served basis. Study rooms can be reserved in person at the Library Services Desk or over the phone at 305-243-6403.
Quiet Study Spaces
The third floor of the Calder Library has quiet study spaces available for UM Faculty, UM Staff, UM Students, JHS Staff, and UM observers. Spaces are available on a first come first served basis.
Electronic Classroom
The Electronic Classroom can be reserved for classes and training. If you are interested in making a reservation, please contact Access Services by callinlg 305-243-6403 or sending an email to libraryservices@miami.edu.
History of Medicine Room
The History of Medicine Room contains a variety of books, photographs and other artifacts about the history of modern medicine dating back to the late 1800’s and the Miller School of Medicine.
Library Stacks
The third floor of the Calder Library houses the majority of the print collections. You can search the print collection using the uSearch Discovery System on the top right of the Calder Library website homepage. Make sure the "Library Catalog" option is selected from the drop down menu before running your search.
For more information about how to search for print books at the Calder Library, please see the following FAQ: https://calder.ask.libraryh3lp.com/questions/51093.
Contact Us
Basement Study Rooms A, B, C, D, E
Basement study rooms are available for University of Miami Miller School of Medicine students. Room use is on a first come first served basis. Study rooms can be reserved in person at the Library Services Desk or over the phone at 305-243-6403.
Private Zoom Rooms
The Basement Level of the Calder Library has Private Zoom Rooms that can be used by UM Faculty, UM Staff, UM Students, JHS Staff, and UM observers that need to make a video conference call. Occupancy is manually indicated by a color coded sign on the door of each Private Zoom Room. Rooms are available on a first come first served basis.
Group Collaboration Rooms
The Basement Level of the Calder Library has Group Collaboration Rooms that can be used by UM Faculty, UM Staff, UM Students, JHS Staff, and UM observers. Occupancy is manually indicated by a color coded sign on the door of each Group Collaboration Room. Rooms are available on a first come first served basis.
Relaxation Room
The Relaxation Room is a dark, calming space with lounge and massage chairs, for when you need a moment to relax, breathe, or meditate. This quiet space is avaialble to UM Faculty, UM Staff, UM Students, JHS Staff, and UM observers.
Contact Us
Outdoor Seating
There is a variety of outdoor seating options available just outside of the Calder Library, including covered tables to protect you from the elements. Seating is available on a first come first served basis.
Elia Cafe
Located just inside the front door of the Calder Library building, Elia Cafe offers fresh, flavorful Mediterranean-inspired dishes crafted for every appetite. From hearty grain bowls and wraps to crisp salads and savory sides, each meal is made with wholesome ingredients and bold, vibrant flavors that satisfy and energize.
Food Market
Every Thursday outside of the Calder Library there is a food market with many different local vendors and options for lunch.